Nidahas Trophy: Sri Lankan Legend Sanath Jayasuriya Calls Bangladesh ‘3rd Class’, Later Deletes His Tweet - Laughing-Colours.com

Breaking

March 21, 2018

Nidahas Trophy: Sri Lankan Legend Sanath Jayasuriya Calls Bangladesh ‘3rd Class’, Later Deletes His Tweet

Nidahas Trophy: Sri Lankan Legend Sanath Jayasuriya Calls Bangladesh ‘3rd Class’, Later Deletes His Tweet
The 6th T20 between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Friday proved to be a controversial match of the series in which Bangladesh had a nail-biting victory over Sri Lanka, which paved the way for the team to play the finals against India.
In a serious clash between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, Bangladesh needed 12 runs off 6 balls in the last over and a couple of bouncers apparently, should have been called a no-ball, but the umpire decided against it despite alleged signal by his compatriot at short-leg. After this, Bangladeshi Captain Shakib Al Hasan called back his players at one point after umpires failed to call a no-ball for a second bouncer in the over by Isuru Udana.
Soon the match resumed only for Mahmudullah to hit the winning six on the second-last ball of the final over. The issue fuelled so much that the dressing room glass of the Bangladeshi players was found broken for which Shakib Al Hasan was blamed.
Reacting to the glass-shattering incident, Sanath Jayasuriya took to Twitter and wrote it as ‘3rd class behaviour’, and later deleted the tweet. He tweeted, “Bangladesh dressing room door at R Premadasa stadium shattered during celebrations following heated conclusion to match against Sri Lanka. 3rd class behaviour.”
The CCTV camera footages are still being analysed but Bangladesh, meanwhile, has offered to compensate the damages. Shakib Al Hasan and Nurul Hasan were subsequently fined 25 percent of their match fee and handed a demerit point for ‘remonstrating’ umpires’ decision.

Shakib stated after the match, “I don’t want to talk about it, but what happened was that the square-leg umpire called a no-ball and after a discussion they cancelled it. I didn’t think it was the right decision. I don’t know what happened after the first ball, which was a bouncer. But after the second ball, the umpire called a no-ball. We are all human, we should take it on the chin and move forward.”

No comments:

Post a Comment